Pulitzer for Fiction

The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded by Columbia University since 1917. The awards are given on the recommendations of a board of jurors for Journalism, Letters, Music and Drama. The awards for Letters include Fiction (which are listed here), Non-fiction, Poetry, Biography or Autobiography, and History.  Children might enjoy the Caldecott winners


  2013  The Orphans Master's Son by  Adam Johnson

  2012  No award

  2011  A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

 2010 Tinkers by Paul Harding

 2009  Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

 2008 The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

   2007 The Road by Cormac McCarthy

    2006 March by Geraldine Brooks

    2005 Gilead: A Novel Marilynne Robinson

    2004 The Known World Edward P. Jones

    2003 Middlesex: A Novel Jeffery Eugenides

    2002 Empire Falls Richard Russo  

    2001 The Amazing Adventures of Kavlier & Clay: A Novel Michael Chabon

     2000 Interpreter of Maladies Jhumpa Lahiri

     1999 The Hours by Micael Cunningham

     1998 American Pastoral, by Philip Roth

     1997 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer, by Stephen Millhauser

     1996 Independence Day, by Richard Ford

     1995 The Stone Diaries, by Carol Shields

     1994 The Shipping News, by E. Annie Proulx

     1993 A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, by Robert Olen Butler

     1992 A Thousand Acres, by Jane Smiley

     1991 Rabbit at Rest, by John Updike

     1990 The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, by Oscar Hijuelos

     1989 Breathing Lessons, by Anne Tyler

     1988 Beloved, by Toni Morrison

     1987 A Summons to Memphis, by Peter Taylor

     1986 Lonesome Dove, by Larry McMurtry

     1985 Foreign Affairs, by Alison Lurie

     1984 Ironweed, by William Kennedy

     1983 The Color Purple, by Alice Walker

     1982 Rabbit is Rich, by John Updike

     1981 A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy O’Toole

     1980 The Executioner’s Song, by Norman Mailer

     1979 The Stories of John Cheever, by John Cheever

     1978 Elbow Room, by James Alan McPherson

     1977 No Award

     1976 Humboldt’s Gift, by Saul Bellow

     1975 The Killer Angels, by Michael Shaara

     1974 No Award

     1973 The Optimist’s Daughter, by Eudora Welty

     1972 Angle of Repose, by Wallace Stegner

     1971 No Award

     1970 Collected Stories, by Jean Stafford

     1969 House Made of Dawn, by N. Scott Momaday

     1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner, by William Styron

     1967 The Fixer, by Bernard Malamud

     1966 The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter, by Katherine Anne Porter

     1965 The Keepers of the House, by Shirley Ann Grau

     1964 No Award

     1963 The Reivers, by William Faulkner

     1962 The Edge of Sadness, by Edwin O’Connor

     1961 To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

     1960 Advise and Consent, by Allen Drury

     1659 The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters, by Robert Lewis Taylor

     1958 A Death in the Family, by James Agee

     1957 No Award

     1956 Andersonville, by MacKinlay Kantor

     1955 A Fable, by William Faulkner

     1954 No Award

     1953 The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway

     1952 The Caine Mutiny, by Herman Wouk

     1951 The Town, by Conrad Richter

     1950 The Way West, by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

     1949 Guard ofo Hnor, by James Gould Cozzens

     1948 Tales of the South Pacific, by James A. Michener

     1947 All the King’s Men, by Robert Penn Warren

     1946 No Award

     1945 A Bell for Adano, by John Hersey

     1944 Journey in the Dark, by Martin Flavin

     1943 Dragon’s Teeth, by Upton Sinclair

     1942 In This Our Life, by Ellen Glasgow

     1941 No Award

     1940 The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck

     1939 The Yearling, by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

     1938 The Late George Apley, by John Phillips Marquand

     1937 Gone With the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell

     1936 Honey in the Horn, by Harold L. Davis

     1935 Now in November, by Josephine Winslow Johnson

     1934 Lamb in His Bosom, by Caroline Miller

     1933 The Store, by T. S. Stribling

     1932 The Good Earth, by Pearl S. Buck

     1931 Years of Grace, by Margaret Ayer Barnes

     1930 Laughing Boy, by Oliver La Farge

     1929 Scarlet Sister Mary, by Julia Peterkin

     1928 The Bridge of San Luis Rey, by Thornton Wilder

     1927 Early Autumn, by Louis Bromfield

     1926 Arrowsmith, by Sinclair Lewis

     1925 So Big, by Edna Ferber

     1924 The Able McLaughlins, by Margaret Wilson

     1923 One of Ours, by Willa Cather

     1922 Alice Adams, by Booth Tarkington

     1921 The Age of Innocence, by Edith Wharton

     1920 No Award

     1919 The Magnificent Ambersons, by Booth Tarkington

     1918 His Family, by Ernest Poole