The National Book Award for Fiction

The National Book Award is awarded by the National Book Foundation. Listed here are the winners in the Fiction category. Other categories include Nonfiction, Poetry, Young People's Literature, and the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.

2013  The Good Lord Bird by James McBride
2012  The Round House by Louise Erdrich
2011  Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
2010  Lord of Misrule by Jaime Gordon
2009  Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
2008  Shadow Country: A New Rendering of the Watson Legend by Peter Matthiessen
2007 Tree of Smoke: A Novel by Denis Johnson
2006 The Echo Maker by Richard Powers
2005 Europe Central by William T. Vollmann
2004 The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck
2003 The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
2002 Three Junes by Julia Glass
2001 The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
2000 In America by Susan Sontag
1999 Waiting by Ha Jin
1998 Charming Billy by Alice McDermott
1997 Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
1996 Ship Fever and Other Stories by Andrea Barrett
1995 Sabbath's Theater by Phillip Roth
1994 A Frolic of His Own by William Gaddis
1993 The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
1992 All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
1991 Mating by Norman Rush
1990 Middle Passage by Charles Johnson
1989 Spartina by John Casey
1988 Paris Trout by Pete Dexter
1987 Paco's Story by Larry Heinemann
1986 World's Fair by E.L. Doctorow
1986 Arctic Dreams by Barry Lopez
1985 White Noise by Don Delillo
1985 Easy in the Islands (1st Novel Award) by Bob Shacochis
1984 Stones for Ibarra (1st Novel Award) by Harriet Doerr
1984 Victory Over Japan by Ellen Gilchrist
1983 The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor
1983 The Collected Stories by Eudora Welty
1983 The Color Purple by Alice Walker
1982 Dale Loves Sophie to Death (1st Novel Award) by Robb Forman Dew
1982 Rabbit is Rich by John Updike
1981 Plains Song by Wright Morris
1981 Sister Wolf (1st Novel Award) by Ann Arensberg
1980 Birdy (1st Novel Award) by William Wharton
1980 Sophie's Choice by William Styron
1980 The World According to Garp by John Irving
1979 Going After Cacciato by Tim O'Brien
1978 Blood Ties by Mary Lee Settle
1977 The Spectator Bird by Wallace Stegner
1977 Master Tung`s Western Chamber Romance by Li Li Chen
1976 JR by William Gaddis
1975 The Hair of Harold Roux by Thomas Williams
1975 Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone
1974 Gravity's Ranbow by Thomas Pynchon
1974 A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer
1973 Augustus by John Williams
1973 Chimera by John Barth
1972 The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor
1971 Mr. Sammler's Planet by Saul Bellow
1970 Them by Joyce Carol Oates
1969 Steps by Jerzy Kosinski
1968 The Eighth Day by Thornton Wilder
1967 The Fixer by Bernard Malamud
1966 The Collected Stories by Katherine Anne Porter
1965 Herzog by Saul Bellow
1964 The Centaur by John Updike
1963 Morte d'Urban by J.F. Powers
1962 The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
1961 The Waters of Kronos by Conrad Richter
1960 Goodbye Columbus by Philip Roth
1959 The Magic Barrell by Bernard Malamud
1958 Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever
1957 The Field of Vision by Wright Morris
1956 Ten North Frederick by John O'Hara
1955 A Fable by William Faulkner
1954 The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow
1953 Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
1952 From Here to Eternity by James Jones
1951 The Collected Stories by William Faulkner
1950 The Man with the Golden Arm by Nelson Algren