The Edgar Award

The Edgar Award, in honor of Edgar Allan Poe, is given by The Mystery Writers of America to the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. Listed here are the winners in the fiction category. The first Edgar was awarded in 1954.



Live by Night by Dennis LeHane


 Gone Cover
 Gone by Mo Hayder


 The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

  The Last Child by John Hart


  Blue Heaven by C. J. Bos


Down River: A Novel Down River: A Novel by John Hart

"Hart gathers the story's many strands into a satisfying and surprising conclusion, one that simultaneously reveals the true strength of family bonds and then sets them up to be tested again." Art Taylor, The Washington Post Book World (read more)


The Janissary Tree The Janissary Tree by Jason Goodwin

"The Janissary the perfect escapist mystery..." New York Times Book Review (read more)


Citizen Vince: A Novel Citizen Vince: A Novel by Jess Walter Staff Pick
It's 1980 and Vince Camdon is caught between the worlds of criminal New York and sleepy, law abiding Spokane, Washington. And he can't even decide who to vote for in the upcoming election. With characters that recall Richard Russo at his finest, Jess Walter lets you appraise both worlds with suspicion and curiosity while citizen Vince juggles his conflicting tendencies. Recommended by Donna, Powell's Books on Hawthorne (read more)


California Girl California Girl by T. Jefferson Parker

"Parker's drum-tight prose and richly layered characters borrow a bit from Raymond well as...Dennis Lehane, but Girl easily earns Parker his own spot on the shelf between these two masters." Entertainment Weekly (read more)


Resurrection Men: An Inspector Rebus Novel Resurrection Men: An Inspector Rebus Novel by Ian Rankin

"The clever, funny, perfectly pitched dialogue develops the characters and moves the story....Resurrection Men is what good crime fiction should be a puzzle that challenges the eye, but worth the effort of putting all the pieces in place." Philadelphia Inquirer (read more)


Winter and Night Winter and Night by S. J. Rozan

"[O]ne of the very best private-eye duos in the genre...[a] highly readable and most entertaining series....As before, Rozan delivers strong characters, deft plotting, and a hard-driving narrative. We'll say it again: don't miss this one." Stuart Miller, Booklist (Starred Review) (read more)


Silent Joe Silent Joe by T. Jefferson Parker

"[A] dark, sexy gem....A complex mix of seemingly unconnected plot lines, vivid characterization, and real mystery merge to form a truly satisfying thriller. Parker has joined the ranks of Michael Connolly, James Patterson, and Jonathan Kellerman." Library Journal (read more)

2001 The Bottoms by Joe R. Lansdale
2000 Bones by Jan Burke
1999 Mr. White's Confession by Robert Clark
1998 Cimarron Rose by James Lee Burke
1997 The Chatham School Affair by Thomas H Cook
1996 Come to Grief by Dick Francis
1995 The Red Scream by Mary Willis Walker
1994 The Sculptress by Minette Walters
1993 Bootlegger's Daughter by Margaret Maron
1992 A Dance At the Slaughterhouse by Lawrence Block
1991 New Orleans Mourning by Julie Smith
1990 Black Cherry Blues by James Lee Burke
1989 Cold, Red Sunrise by Stuart M. Kaminsky
1988 Old Bones: A Gideon Oliver Mystery by Aaron J. Elkins
1987 A Dark-adapted Eye by Barbara Vine
1986 Suspect by L R Wright
1985 Briarpatch by Ross Thomas
1984 Labrava by Elmore Leonard
1983 Billinsgate Shoal by Rick Boyer
1982 Peregrine by William Bayer
1981 Whip Hand by Dick Francis
1980 The Rheingold Route by Arthur. Maling
1979 Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett
1978 Catch Me Kill Me by William Hallahan
1977 Promised Land by Robert B. Parker
1976 Hopscotch by Brian Garfield
1975 Peter's Pence by Jon Cleary
1974 Dance Hall of the Dead by Tony Hillerman
1973 The Lingala Code by Warren Kiefer
1972 The Day of the Jackal by Frederick Forsyth
1971 The Laughing Policeman by Maj Sjowall
1970 Forfeit by Dick Francis
1969 A Case of Need by Michael Crichton
1968 God Save the Mark by Donald Westlake
1967 King of the Rainy Country by Nicolas Freeling
1966 The Quiller Memorandum by Adam. Hall
1965 The Spy Who Came in From the Cold by John Le Carre
1964 The Light of Day by Eric Ambler
1963 Death and the Joyful Woman by Peter Ellis
1962 Gideon's Fire by J. J. Marric
1961 Progress of a Crime by Julian Symons
1960 The Hours Before Dawn by Celia Fremlin
1959 The Eighth Circle by Stanley Ellin
1958 Room To Swing by Ed Lacy
1957 A Dram of Poison by Charlotte Armstrong
1956 Beast in View by Margaret Millar
1955 The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler
1954 Beat Not the Bones by Charlotte Jay