THE PEN/Faulkner Awards


The PEN/Faulkner award was founded in the spirit of William Faulkner, who donated his Nobel money to young writers. Over two hundred books are read each year and judged by a panel of three American novelists.

2013  Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club by Benjamin Alire Senz,
2012  The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
2011  The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg by Deborah Eisenberg
2010  War Dances by Sherman Alexie
2009  Netherland by Joseph O'Neill
2008  The Great Man by Kate Christensen
2007 Everyman by Philip Roth
2006 The March by E. L. Doctorow
2005 War Trash by Ha Jin
2004 The Early Stories: 1953-1975 by John Updike
2003 The Caprices by Sabina Murray
2002 Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
2001 The Human Stain by Philip Roth
2000 Waiting by Ha Jin
1999 The Hours by Michael Cunningham
1998 The Bear Comes Home by Rafi Zabor
1997 Women in Their Beds: New and Selected Stories by Gina Berriault
1996 Independence Day by Richard Ford
1995 Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson
1994 Operation Shylock: A Confession by Philip Roth
1993 Postcards by E. Annie Proulx
1992 Mao II by Don Delillo
1991 Philadelphia Fire: A Novel by John Edgar Wideman
1990 Billy Bathgate by E. L. Doctorow
1989 Dusk and Other Stories: And Other Stories by James Salter
1988 World's End by T. Coraghessan Boyle
1987 Soldiers in Hiding by Richard Wiley
1986 The Old Forest and Other Stories by Peter Taylor
1985 The Barracks Thief by Tobias Wolff
1984 Sent for You Yesterday by John Edgar Wideman
1983 Seaview by Toby Olson
1982 The Chaneysville Incident by David Bradley
1981 How German Is It: Wie Deutsch Ist Es: A Novel by Walter Abish